Contentment

Satisfaction. Or not. 

It seems that there are so many things that people can be unhappy with. No matter what you do, there will be some complaints of how its not good enough. Too skinny? Not healthy. Slightly plump? Not exercising enough. Good GPA? Mugger. Bad GPA? Slacker. Being rich? Squandering parents’ wealth. Being poor? Not working hard enough. Have many boyfriends? Slut. Don’t have boyfriends? Unwanted. 

You can’t please people. AT ALL. Everything you do can lead to people saying something about you. And then again, why are you pleasing people in the society who you don’t really care for? Those who matter won’t mind and those who mind won’t matter. 

I’ve realised that no matter what I do, I can’t please everybody I know. If I have to please everyone I know, I think I will have to put on more facades than I already have. And I realise there is no point in doing it because it will degrade me to a point where I won’t even know who I am before. I do think it is necessary to put on facades, no matter how fake they are. Its part and parcel of life. 

I’ve never realised how fake I could be until something happens and I see how I really am. But then again, I’ve never told other people that I’m not a fake person. Life is just like a play, no? The better you act, the “better” your life is. It’s all a matter of how long everyone can put on a show. Acting a different personality in front of others is not being childish, its understanding how it is an important essence of relationships and that at some point in time, everyone has to learn this skill. 

But at the end of the day, return to your own skin and be comfortable with who you are with a select few. Because these are the people who really care for you and will want the best for you. Exposing yourself to others definitely bring about inherent risks, but if you don’t, one day you will realise you’ve lost the people you care the most about. 

You choose who you want to be, and you choose who you want to expose yourself to. At the end of the day, don’t regret your choices, stay grounded and return to who you truly want yourself to be in front of those that you really treasure. 

Leave a Reply

